Thank you for visiting our website

Featuring breaking political news and commentary on local, state, and national issues.

Wednesday, November 5, 2008

Transition Team Named By Obama

George Wenschhof

In the first step of his incoming administration, President-elect Barack Obama announced his transition team today. He named three co-chairs in the press release. They were John Podesta, Valerie Jarrett and Pete Rose. Podesta was chief-of-staff for President Clinton. Also named were a ten member advisory board and two co-chairs for Vice-President Joe Biden's transition team. They are Mark Gitenstein and Ted Kaufman. A website has also been set up for the transition team at has more here.

The New York Times is also reporting Representative Rahm Emanuel (D-Ill.) has been offered the Chief-of-Staff position by Barack Obama. Emanuel is currently the chair of the House Democratic caucus and previously was the chair of the Democratic Congressional Campaign Committee (DCCC). The NYTimes has more
here. MSNBC initially reported Emanuel had accepted the position, but now says he has made no decision as of this time. If Emanuel does not accept, expect former Senate Majority Leader Tom Daschle to be named chief-of-staff.


To receive "Daily Updates" from Air-it-Out with George, click on "Subscribe to this feed" below.

No comments: